The Chakra System


The word ‘chakra’ is derived from the Sanskrit word meaning ‘wheel’. A chakra is like a whirling, vortex-like powerhouse of energy. Within our bodies we have seven of these major energy centres, and many more minor ones which extend beyond the limits of our physical body.
You can think of chakras as invisible, rechargeable batteries. They are charged and recharged through contact with the stream of life energy in much the same way that your home is connected to a central power source within a town.
Imagine a vertical power current rather like a fluorescent tube that runs up and down the spine, from the top of the head to the base of the spine. Think of this as your main source of energy. The seven major chakras are aligned with this vertical power line.

Chakras connect your spiritual bodies to your physical one. They regulate the flow of energy throughout the electrical network (meridians) that runs through the physical body.
The body’s electrical system resembles the wiring in a house. It allows electrical current to be sent to every part, and it is ready for use when needed.
Sometimes, chakras become blocked because of stress, emotional or physical problems. If the body’s energy system cannot flow freely it is likely that problems will occur. The consequence of irregular energy flow may result in physical illness and discomfort or a sense of being mentally and emotionally out of balance.


7 - The Crown Chakra

Blockage can result in psychological problems. Healing brings joy and happiness. Calming. Purity. Spiritual connection.

Its colour is violet or white and it is located at the top of your head. It is associated with the cerebral cortex, central nervous system and the pituitary gland. It is concerned with information, understanding, acceptance and bliss. It is said to be your own place of connection to God, the chakra of divine purpose and personal destiny.


6 - The Third Eye (or Brow) Chakra

Blockage may manifest as problems like lack of foresight, mental rigidity, ‘selective’ memory and depression. Healing leads to awareness of divine knowledge. Good sleep.

Its colour is Indigo. It is located at the centre of your forehead, slightly above eye level. This chakra is used to question the spiritual nature of our life. It is the chakra of question, perception and knowing. It is concerned with inner vision, intuition and wisdom. Your dreams for this life and recollections of other lifetimes are held in this chakra.


5 - The Throat Chakra

Blockage can show up as blocks to creativity, dishonesty or general problems with communication. Healing leads to effective communication. Calming. Healing.

Its colour is blue or turquoise and it is located in the throat area. It is the chakra of communication, creativity, self-expression and judgement. It is associated with your neck, shoulders, arms, hands, thyroid and parathyroid glands. It is concerned with the senses of inner and outer hearing, the synthesising of ideas, healing, transformation and purification.


4 - The Heart Chakra

Blockage can show up as difficulties in the immune system, lungs and heart, or manifest as lack of compassion. Healing helps in spirituality and devotion. Balancing. Giving and receiving. Loving.

Its colour is green and it is located in the centre of your chest. It is the centre of unconditional love, compassion, harmony and peace. Often referred to as the house of the soul. This chakra is associated with your lungs, heart, arms hands and thymus gland.


3 - The Solar Plexus Chakra

Blockage may manifest as anger, frustration, lack of direction or a sense of victimisation. Healing leads to self-confidence. Concentration. Clarity.

Its colour is yellow and it is located a few inches above the navel in the solar plexus area. This chakra is concerned with your digestive system, muscles, pancreas and adrenals. It is the seat of your emotional life. Feelings of personal power, laughter, joy and anger are associated with this centre. Your sensitivity, ambition and ability to achieve are stored here.


2 - The Sacral (or Navel) Chakra

Blockage may manifest as emotional problems, compulsive or obsessive behaviour and sexual guilt. Healing leads to creativity, positive sex and relationships.

Its colour is orange and it is located between the base of your spine and your navel. It is associated with your lower abdomen, kidneys, bladder, circulatory system and your reproductive organs and glands. It is concerned with emotion. This chakra represents desire, pleasure, sexuality, procreation and creativity.


1 - The Base (or Root) Chakra

Blockage may manifest as paranoia, fear, procrastination and defensiveness. Healing leads to courage and strength. Survival. Elimination. Stability and security.

Its colour is red and it is located at the perineum, base of your spine. It is the chakra closest to the earth. Its function is concerned with earthly grounding and physical survival. This chakra is associated with your legs, feet, bones, large intestine and adrenal glands. It controls your fight or flight response.